Design Team

Architecture, Interior Design and Visualisation
02382 025240

The 2020 Architect of the Year Awards winners

Found in:


Architect Of The Year Awards 2020

On Friday 23rd October, as part of Building Design’s 50th-anniversary celebration, the Architecture community joined online to celebrate the winners of the Architect of the Year Awards 2020.

Hundreds of entries were whittled down to a shortlist back in July. The quality of submissions was noted as “first-rate” and a good mix of well-established practices and some AYA newcomers were in the mix. Thomas Lane, chair of the judging panel said: “It’s been fantastic to see people who haven’t entered before putting through some exceptional work.”

In the free online event, the judging panel awarded 19 coveted awards to a range of practices and people. The Architect of the Year Award was won by Mica  Architects and was honoured with the Gold Award for the overall winner at the ceremony. They also scooped the award for ‘Refurbishment Architect of the Year’.

The full list of winners are noted below:

Architect of the Year: Gold Award: Mica Architects

Sustainability Architect: HTA

Refurbishment Architect: Mica Architects

Public Building Architect: Dow Jones (Highly commended: Bell Phillips)

Housing Architect: Alison Brooks Architects

Office Architect: Bennetts Associates

Individual House Architect: McGonigle McGrath (Highly commended: Alison Brooks Architects)

Infrastructure Architect: Arup Architecture

Public Realm Architect: Nex

Education Architect (nursery to 6th form): Penoyre & Prasad (Highly commended: Architype)

Education Architect (higher): Grimshaw (Highly commended: Cottrell & Vermeulen)

Retail & Leisure Architect: Faulkner Browns

Interior Architect: Sheppard Robson

Small Project Architect: Pad Studio

Young Architect of the Year (YAYA): Office S&M

Best Architect Employer: Jestico & Whiles

Architect Leader: Julia Park, Levitt Bernstein

Social impact: RCKa (Highly commended: Turner Works)

Architectural Client: London Borough of Sutton (nominated by Bell Phillips)


The AYA 2020 judging panel was made up of:

Chaired by Thomas Lane, Assemble Media Group

Jamie Fobert, Director, Jamie Fobert Architects

Mary Duggan, Founder, Mary Duggan Architects

Phil Tait, Head of Development, British Land

Kay Hughes, Design Director, HS2 Ltd

Liz Smith, Head of Architecture, Purcell

Rab Bennetts, Co-Founder, Bennetts Associates

Julia Barfield, Director, Marks Barfield Architects

Patrick Bellew, Principal, Atelier Ten

Mary Bowman, Partner, Gustafson Porter & Bowman

Colm Lacey, Chief Executive, Brick by Brick

David Rudlin, Principal, Urbed

Elizabeth Hopkirk, Assistant Editor, Building Design

 For more information about the AYA awards, please visit the Building Design website.